+255(0)232604380/1/3/4 | P.O. Box 9, Mzumbe, Morogoro - Tanzania

Displaying items by tag: faculty of law

Tuesday, 19 September 2017 06:53

Our Management

The Faculty of Law thrives under the esteemed leadership of Our Dean, Dr John Ubena supported with four Heads of Department. Our departments constitute the Department of Civil & Criminal Law, Department of Constitutional & Administrative Law, Department of International Law and Department of Economic Law.

Published in General Mzumbe
Tuesday, 19 September 2017 06:42

Our Background

The Faculty of Law was established in 2002 one year after the former Institute of Development Management (IDM-Mzumbe) was transformed into Mzumbe University. However, the teaching of law began in 1963. Since its establishment, the Faculty has enjoyed honour of producing highly qualified graduates who have held distinctive positions in the bench as well as managing some of the leading law firms in the country. The faculty runs different programmes from undergraduate to postgraduate. For undergraduate, the faculty offers certificate in law, diploma in law and bachelor of laws programmes. For postgraduate, it offers master of laws and PhD programmes. These programmes are offered by the faculty of Law at Mzumbe University main campus in Morogoro and Mzumbe University-Mbeya Campus in Mbeya.

The Faculty of Law, has over 50 academic staff, specialized in diverse areas of law, including, Criminal Justice, Civil Law, Commercial Law, ICT Law, Employment Law, Land Law, Family Law, International Law, Human Rights, Constitutional & Administrative Law, Evidence and Civil Procedure, Intellectual property and International Trade.

Published in General Mzumbe
Thursday, 14 September 2017 17:12

Hon. John Paul Wanga

Ilemela Municipal Director

Hon. Wanga graduated his LL.B studies at Mzumbe University in 2005.

Published in Alumni
Thursday, 14 September 2017 17:11

Hon. Antony Peter Mavunde (MP)

Hon. Antony Mavunde, Deputy Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office responsible for Policy, Parliamentary Affairs, Labour, Employment, Youth and the Disabled.

Hon. Mavunde graduated his LL.B from Mzumbe University in 2007.

Published in Alumni
Thursday, 14 September 2017 17:09

H.E. Amb. Dr. Pindi Hazara Chana

Tanzania High Commissioner for Nairobi

Dr. Chana graduated her PhD in Law from Mzumbe University in 2013.

Published in Alumni
Thursday, 14 September 2017 17:05

Hon. Judge Dr. Modesta Opiyo

Judge of the High Court of Tanzania

Judge Opiyo graduated her PhD at Mzumbe University in 2010. She exceptionally served as the Dean of the Faculty of Law (2011-2014).

Published in Alumni
Thursday, 14 September 2017 16:50

International Humanitarian Law

Since 2009 the Faculty has been in collaboration with the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) in areas of International Humanitarian Law. Through this collaboration, our staff has participated in various international conferences organized by the ICRC. Further, our students have participated in both regional and national essay and moot court competitions organised by the ICRC.

Published in Collaborations

Between October 2014 and May 2016, the Faculty of Law, Mzumbe University collaborated with The Centre for Applied Childhood, Youth and Family Research at the University of Huddersfield, UK to conduct a “Study of drivers of violence against children and positive change in Tanzania Mainland and Zanzibar”. The study was commissioned by UNICEF.

Published in Collaborations
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 06:22

Department of Constitutional and Administrative Law

The Constitutional and Administrative Law Department is one of the four departments of the Faculty of Law of Mzumbe University. The Department aims at training law students and provide them with understanding of the law skills that will enable students to pursue the legal course of justice in respect of Constitutional and Administrative Law. The department shares the vision and mission of the Faculty of Law as follows:


To be internationally recognized as a center for academic achievement and excellence in legal knowledge and skills dissemination and acquisition by year 2035.


To provide opportunities, to the local and international community, for acquisition, development, preservation and dissemination of knowledge, competencies and skills through training, research, consultancy, legal aid and outreach activities. Members

The department has one senior lecturer, one lecturer, two assistant lecturers and one tutorial assistant. The members of the department are as follows:

Head of Department

  1. Ms. Isabela M. Warioba (Assistant Lecturer) Members of the Department
  2. Dr. Eliuther G. Mushi (Senior Lecturer)
  3. Mr Ignas S. Punge (Lecturer)
  4. Mr. Thobias Mnyasenga (Assistant Lecturer)
  5. Mr. Shaibu Kandoro (Tutorial Assistant)

Programmes we offer

The department runs the Master of Laws in Constitutional and Administrative Law (LL.M – Constitutional & Administrative Law) programme which is intended to train law graduates and provide them with deeper understanding of constitutional and administrative law issues and other relevant legal skills. It is a full-time programme offered only at the main campus of the University.

In association with the other departments of the Faculty, the department also offers Certificate in Law programme as well as the Bachelor in Law programme.

Published in Departments
Monday, 11 September 2017 10:00

Department of Economic Law

Our Department teaches a broad field of law courses relating to trade, business, and intellectual property. These courses are taught at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. At postgraduate level, the department hosts the LL.M Commercial Law programme, aiming at producing qualified commercial law experts.

Our staff specialize in diverse disciplines of economic law, including international trade law, intellectual property law, tax law, banking law, insurance law and contract law. Below is a list of academic staff in the department of economic law:

  1. Mr. Edward K Prosper-Head of the Department
  2. Dr Hanifa Thwaha Masawe
  3. Benjamin Motika Jonas
  4. Ferdinand Marcel Temba
  5. John Sebastian Ombella
  6. Mwajuma Juma Kadilu
  7. Iness Mghamba Kajiru
  8. Rosemery Jotham Mukama
  9. Marha Raphael Masanda
Published in Departments
Page 1 of 2
Go to top
JSN Educare is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework